Our Network

The Be Wiser Network

Cork County Council


Cork County Council Headquarters, County Hall, Carrigrohane Road, Cork, T12R2NC


Cork County Council Bio


Irish Local Government comprises of 31 Local Authorities and represent the closest and most accessible form of Government to people in their local community. The Local Authorities are responsible for the delivery of a wide range of services in their local area with a focus on making towns and cities attractive places to live, work and invest. These services generally include housing; planning; roads; water supply; environmental protection; provision of recreation and amenities and community infrastructure. The Local Authorities also play a key role in supporting economic development and enterprise at a local level.


County Cork.

County Cork covers an area of 7,459 square kilometres which is 11% of the Irish State and is the largest of the 26 counties in Ireland. The population is 518,128 (census 2012) making it the second most populous county in the country.


There are two local authorities in the county whose remit collectively encompasses the geographic area of the county and city of Cork. The county, excluding Cork city, is administered by Cork County Council, while the city is administered separately by Cork City Council. Both the City Council and the County Council are part of the NUTS III South-West Region.


The population of the county is 399,216 and they are represented by 55 councillors, from eight Municipal Districts. Cork County Council employs 2,146 staff and in 2013 annual turnover (revenue and capital) was approximately €416 million.

Web Design By

David Henderson Design logo

Copyright © 2014 Be Wiser. All rights reserved.